DYKYAGO?: June 11, 2012

Today’s DYKYAGO features Leslie Wolf Robb, Councillor for Region IX. Thank you, Leslie, for your kindness and flexibility!

When did you begin to learn how to play the organ?

I started organ lessons at age 8. As a child, I frequently went out to dinner with my parents, and one of our favorite restaurants had a young man playing a Hammond B-3 in the bar. I was totally fascinated by it and wanted to learn to play. It took awhile to convince my parents, but finally my dad purchased a Hammond spinet and I started lessons.

Have you done anything else as a career besides organ?

I teach both piano and organ, have taught Yamaha Music School, and direct children’s and adult choirs plus a handbell ensemble.

How did you begin to become involved in the American Guild of Organists?

I was nominated for office in the San Diego chapter a number of years ago, and really became active when I was asked to be on the Education Committee. I’ve served in a number of offices in San Diego AGO over the years. Co-chairing the Region IX 2001 convention put me in contact with a number of leaders at the national level, and I was asked to be on the Committee on Regional Conventions. More committee work on the Committee on Regional Competitions for Young Organists followed, and in 2010 I was elected Councillor for Region IX. I still serve as Education Chair for San Diego AGO as well.

Are there any specific challenges that you find in being Councillor to Region IX, due to distance, technology, etc?

Our region is geographically quite large, which makes getting to chapters (and gathering chapter leaders for district meetings) a challenge! Technology makes this easier, since we can communicate via email, Skype, phone, etc. It’s energizing to see the exciting and creative activities happening all over the region!

Who is your favorite composer?

J.S. Bach

Who is your favorite musical artist (classical performer or otherwise)?
That’s a tough question – Paul Jacobs, Chelsea Chen, Yo-Yo Ma, Itzhak Perlman, Elton John, Eva Cassidy, St. Olaf Cantorei, – I could go on and on. There are so many fine performers today!

Where do you enjoy going on vacation?

Lake Tahoe
Yosemite

Do you have any goals for Region IX or your own personal AGO Chapter?

This, too, could be a very long list! Simply put, I would like to see ALL of our chapters working proactively to promote the organ, grow young organists, and reach the highest possible levels of professionalism and excellence as individuals and as chapters.

One thought on “DYKYAGO?: June 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

