Pianist or Organist?

Read on!

Pedal Points

Several years ago a friend asked if I considered myself to be an organist or a pianist. He explained his observation that most people, even if capable of playing both instruments, will generally favor one over the other. I think it kind of goes along with the verse in the Bible that says “No one can serve two masters.”

At the time I was still trying to get my feet to ‘disconnect’ from my left hand. The mental energy expended in practicing a hymn in my early organ days was tremendous. About three weeks into my organ training I got so frustrated with the whole independence of line concept that I got off the organ bench in the middle of my practice and went over to the piano to play the piece, just to remind myself that I actually still could produce something that sounded somewhat musical. As my hands…

View original post 291 more words

One thought on “Pianist or Organist?

Leave a Reply

